Leadership Southeast Georgia

Building a Better Coastal Region Through Unique Leadership Opportunities

Join us on Facebook and keep up to date with all the news 

History of Leadership Southeast Georgia

The 10 counties of BryanBullochCamden, ChathamEffingham, GlynnLibertyLong, McIntosh, and Screven and 35 municipalities comprise the Coastal Georgia region.  Beginning in January 1999, leaders representing the business, local government, and education communities set about the difficult task of creating a regional strategic plan for community and economic development.  The group quickly settled on leadership, workforce development, and infrastructure as the three most vital areas of concern for the region.

‚ÄčA regional leadership program that would bring together citizens from each of the 10 counties was envisioned as a means to reinforce the regional capacity to address challenges and capitalize on common opportunities.  The program content focused on the assets of the area, as well as potential threats to those assets.  Convinced that skills are every bit as important as knowledge, the group insisted that the program provide an educational component meant to strengthen the leadership abilities of each participant. 

From 2000 to 2009, Georgia Southern University hosted Leadership Southeast Georgia (LSEGA).  When Georgia Southern University was no longer able to host the program, a committed group of alumni who did not want to the see the program dissolve, actively sought options to keep LSEGA active. 

Alumni worked with the University of Georgia's Fanning Institute to develop a new format and curriculum for the LSEGA program.  To put the plan into action, alumni pursued host agency options.  In January, 2010, the Coastal Regional Commission (CRC), whose domain covers the same 10-county region as LSEGA, agreed to serve as the host agency through 2014.  In January of 2015, LSEGA teamed up with Georgia Power as a Presenting Sponsor of the program and new class of 2015.  

Since 2000, LSEGA has produced thirteen graduating classes and approximately 240 graduates.